Sui He finally earns her wings!

Hi guys! Over the weekend, I’ve been rather anxious and excited for the annual Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show (VSFS). For those of you who don’t know, the fashion show is an annual tv program that features some of the world’s hottest, most drop dead gorgeous and prettiest angels strutting in sexy lingerie and showcasing the company’s most iconic Angel Wings.. Fashion show isn’t something that I’m interested in but VSFS is something rather unique and interesting to me, I love seeing how a team of people come together to put a fashion show, create amazing outfits using various fabrics and watching them create amazing pieces of wings. It’s all hardwork and long anticipation for the fans and show producers alike. So everyone is very excited together.

The first fashion show that I watched was in 2011, where I was introduced to a very gorgeous Chinese model by the name of Sui He (何穗, pronounced as He Sui) in the Aquatic Angels segment. Maroon 5 performed “Moves By Jagger” then and the video was a hit among fans on YouTube, becoming a must watch video for YouTubers on 2011.

Gorgeous~

At first glance, I didn’t think much about her except to think that she was some fair Navajo girl who was walking on the VS stage. Her fairness and exotic features came across to me as a Native American girl with very delicate features. During then, I was more obsessed with someone like Miranda Kerr, Erin Heatherton or Liu Wen (who I clearly knew was Asian). Becoming slightly obsessed with VSFS, I decided to rewatch the 2011 edition a few times, and learned the names of each model walking on the runway; eventually learning that the Sui He is Chinese. This piqued my interest and made me like her quite a lot that I started paying special attention to her for the rest of her VS walks.

To the eyes of Caucasians, perhaps someone like Liu Wen or Ming Xi (recently walked the fashion show from 2013-2015) would appeal to them for their much more ethnic look. As a typical Asian who already has some pretty typical Asian looks, I preferred looking at Sui He because of her somewhat exotic features, which is enhanced greatly when she has makeup applied. Watching Sui He walk on the runway was a reflection how far Asians, especially Chinese have come from me. In a way, it’s sort of an Asian pride that I like very much.

Being a newcomer at 2011, Sui was a relative unknown and only started making heads turn during her return for a second walk in 2012. A wish that many of Sui’s fans have is to see Sui He being able to carry those iconic Angel Wings that Victoria Secret brags about every year. To be given a pair of wings, big or small, is a sign of recognition for your service, performance or the very fact you’ve been acknowledged by Victoria’s Secret. Personally, I find that receiving an Angel Contract under VS is equivalent to receiving a pair of Angel Wings, so if you have either one, you’re actually damn good in VS’ eyes.

Unfortunately, as each year goes by, Sui’s fans are left in disappointment for lacking wings on the runway. She became a regular (meaning she returns to walk every year without angel contract) by 2013 and people were still having high hopes for her yearly. Sui He is known to be that poor Asian girl whose always given rather poorly designed or ugly outfits by the fashion team, most of her looks are rather filler, which meant that no matter how well she was walking or performing, she tended to get the outfits that didn’t fit the rest of the models. However, for some some very good reason, she always carries her outfit very well and when it comes to live broadcasting, Sui He shone regardless of the outfit she wore. And yes, being the most fair skinned models (I kid you not, lady is practically fair as fuck), it adds to her ability to radiate on stage. Camera time for her between 2011-2012 was short because no one gave a shit about her, but starting from 2013 onwards, she started receiving a lot camera time. So let’s take a look at some of her outfits.

Year 2011

Ballet
Aquatic Angels

Nothing special on 2011 really, she was just a newcomer. Let’s look at 2012.

Year 2012

Dangerous Liaisons
Silver Screen Angels

Personally… Her Silver Screen Angels was rather nice, but in a segment where everyone’s wearing wings, it can kind of feel somewhat insulting that you’re beautiful and you’re not getting wings. Based on an interview from Sui, it seems like Sui was feeling dizzy when she walked the show and thus, she couldn’t shine as much in the outfit. 2013 is where things got better for Sui.

Year 2013

Shipwrecked
Snow Angels

Sad thing Sui still hasn’t gotten her wings, but 2013 was probably a successful year for her. China began knowing her as one of China’s elite supermodels, whenever there is a talk show going on about Sui He, the first thing every TV show host would tell their audience is Sui was prominent for being a Victoria’s Secret model who has walked for a few years. The disappointment still lingers since Sui didn’t get any wings, but being placed along with the main faces (Behati Prinsloo, Candice Swanepoel, Adriana Lima, Karlie Kloss) meant that people are paying attention to her. And then came 2014…

Year 2014

Gilded Angels
Fairy Tale

Seriously, 2014 was the year Victoria Secret went to London and I honestly felt disappointed with the show simply because Sui was at her best and once again, she had no shows. Prior to the show airing, it seemed like Sui He was teasing her fans on instagram about her fitting outfit in Fairy Tale, and it seemed that for once, the team had given her wings. Plus, being a hardcore VS fan, I was following Bellazon.com during 2014’s show and it seems like when the images were leaked, Sui was guaranteed at least one wing outfit. But shit hit the fan when both of her winged outfits were switched for hideous gold bags and a one piece open dress. See for yourself…

Sui 2014 ow
Taken from Instagram, Sui’s earliest outfit from Gilded Angels…

Her first outfit eventually ended up in the hands of Constance Jablonski.

Constance is another French beauty, but her makeup wasn’t on point in 2014, imo.

Actually, 2014 was met with mixed reviews from VS fans, people felt like the makeups were all too washed out and bland. Either way, 2014 was a bad VS year for me, lmao. Sui didn’t get her wings and it kinda left me feeling upset and less excited for 2015’s fashion show.

So this year, knowing full well enough that VS would probably let us down again with their treatment towards Sui, I was half convinced that Sui was probably not going to return for her 5th walk. Liu Wen practically stopped at her 4th walk and I thought maybe Ming Xi was going to replace Sui anytime soon because Ming Xi seemed to VS’ new Asian love child. I hopped on to the Bellazon forums and followed carefully behind each update I could about the model lineups for Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show 2015. Let me be honest with you, 2015 was a scary year and I nearly had a mini heart attack when there were no signs of Sui He announcing her participation with this year’s show. I was preparing myself for the worst and probably predicted her absence, but I was hoping that ill thought wasn’t coming to fruition, in fact I was upset if Sui was going down without a fight to get her wings. Thankfully, just two weeks before the show started, she announced that she was returning for her 5th walk, omg, saved.

VSFS 2015 happened yesterday for me due to timezones, and I woke up as early as 5am trying to get a peek of the lineup and outfits. The show was so darn secretive this year that I was on the edge all the while worrying if Sui was going to get two outfits and her wings, her fans on China’s Weibo site were just as equally nervous and there were already rumors about Sui getting two wings hours just before the show started. I’ve been refreshing my newsfeed on Weibo.com just trying to check if the rumors are true, double checking with the Chinese users on site. There were also images leaked on set about who was going to wear what outfit. And with how grainy those images turned out, it was such a daunting task for me to scan for a photo with a model figure matching Sui’s. But eventually, I found her.

image
Circled Red… Sui is walking in Portrait of An Angel & Ice Angels

I am so damn positive that Sui belonged at the 5th slot on the 3rd row, having seen some grainy photos of her outfit anyway.. What I didn’t know was that she had a second outfit on the 8th slot at 5th row. So I woke up at 5am, feeling so darn anxious, heck everyone in China who loves felt the same way, so what more about a Malaysian fan :S? I was worried if Sui was getting her wings or if she was going to walk twice… From 5am to 7am, without any HQ photos at all, I was just worrying so hard. And then finally by 8am, after checking Sui He’s Weibo account, it seems like people were confirming that she had wings this time round, with a picture captured live from the scene. Hoooray! By 9am, photos of Sui’s wings really did surfaced on the Bellazon forum and all I needed to do was confirm if Sui was walking two segments. To my bloody surprise, Sui actually walked twice and HAD TWO WINGS, IT WAS THE BEST DAY EVER!! Practically everyone in China who loves her were ecstatic with the news! And now, I proudly present you some picture of her wings!

Year 2015!!

YAAAASSSSSS!
WINGS, FINALLY!!

Sui’s very first outfit would be in Portrait of An Angel but most people would consider that to be a bow… For VS though, it’s a wing. So for everyone’s sake, I’ll say Sui He finally got her very first pair of Angel Wings in Ice Angels. VSFS 2015 was a major disappointment for hardcore VS fans rooting for the regulars but Sui’s fans, I’d say it’s a good year for her. She finally has her wings. There were sayings that many outfits, themes and segments were recycled for the 20th anniversary, which is what made the whole show dull and the fact the 20th anniversary was too centered around Kendall Jenner and Gigi Hadid. At this point, I don’t even care if Sui’s wings are recycled stuffs, I’m just happy that she’s gotten one. Big or small isn’t the issue on hand, what matters is that she’s finally a part of the #VSFamily with wings.

Right now, I’m just super excited to see the taping on December 8, 2015. This year’s fashion show may have been a disaster, but watching Sui strut in Ice Angels with angel wings while Ellie Goulding sings “Love Me Like You Do” in the background is heavenly. I will start by saying Sui could have looked better though, but it’s not her fault that her makeup isn’t on fleek this year. It seems like most models’ makeup was heavily ruined by VS’ hired makeup artist who insisted on natural makeup. What I’m saying is, the fact that Sui has two wings is enough for me to not care about how ugly the make up was. As usual, I’m just waiting for some cute gifs of her and more HQ photos to surface pretty soon. Don’t be so quick to judge her looks by the photo, from what I know, she usually gets the bad photo angle half of the time. Wait till you see her in the taping!

For now, I’m just gonna look forward to the taping and enjoy myself in Love Me Like You Do.

November is a good month so far ❤ ❤ <3.

Leave a comment