Panas Gila Babi!

Shiiiiit, it’s sooo fucking hot, and I don’t usually say Panas Gila Babi at all. I am usually a very eco-friendly user when it comes to switching on the air conditioner, but even I can’t be spared from this year’s El Nino phenomenon.  I’ve gone up to incidents where I’ve left my air conditioner running from 12am all the way up to 7am.

In case you guys don’t know, its January and in South East Asian countries typically, you’ll start getting long periods of crazy hot weather with blazing suns and scorching hot that would probably cripple you, if not striking you down with heat stroke. And it usually lasts all the way up to February at the very least, its what most Chinese call the Lunar New Year weather, where the spring breeze starts billowing in yet the sun is still as hot while the sky is almost always cerulean blue.

This year has been particularly hard on everyone because weather forecasts indicate that the temperature has soared up to 40 degrees Celsius, and that’s unusually high in Malaysia because we tend to get 37 or 38 at most annually. It’s gone to the point where the meteorological team in Malaysia have been creating man made rain just to quell the all the heat that’s been going on. With heavy rains and sudden heat, it also becomes a breeding ground for Aedes mosquitoes.

Apart from that, I’m really starting to feel all that anger, hunger and agony that wells up in me when I’m stuck in a traffic under a blazing hot day. I usually don’t sweat easily but over the past few days, it’s been hell for me. Sometimes I find myself taking midnight shower from all that sweat that’s made my body sticky. Even sleeping shirtless during bed time doesn’t help at times.

Turning the air conditioner doesn’t help much since its not doing the environment any good and currently, I am having flu from an overexposure towards air conditioner during night time and the lack of sleep due to the heat that keeps me up at night. Having said that though, sometimes I think sleeping at night with your windows closed helps because it keeps the hot air from entering in to your room.

Well, that’s probably it for now. This was meant to be a short post, I’m slightly under the weather and I’m feeling hot as fuck! See what I did there :P? I promise a better post on my next entry, this was meant to one of those posts lack anything meaningful.

Hope you guys are taking care of yourselves, drink loads of water and get some early sleep is the least you can do. I know the heat is unbearable but hang in there, CNY is just around the corner and before you know, the March downpours will start rolling in and everything will be fine in Malaysia again!

Leave a comment